You’re normal but you are different accept it~

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Nareke Insights.

I know it might sound senseless in a way but believe me when I say that you are just like any other human. The only thing that sets you aside from the rest is your speech which makes you unique/Different. And that’s a plus, a whole lot of talent, a whole lot of advantages. I look at mine as a gift rather than a curse. I imagine myself on a stage one day as a standup comedian or as an actress, and I don’t care about my stutter it is free to join.

You see stuttering can be harmful depending on perspectives. Imagine taking a uber to work or home or even school if you are a student. Imagine your crush well that’s too childish. Imagine someone you strongly admire seated beside you. 

       You are sixteen seconds away so I guess you would practice moving your mouth until your evil tongue allow you to scramble the rest out. Five still fumbling … three still fumbling. Two you came out with the ‘RI’. By now people be looking at you as if you’re crazy. While some are likely to ask “are you OK” you nod your head, still trying to scrape the rest off your tongue. ‘Oh yes she is a psycho’

     Just like that the car passes your destination you pat the uber driver pointing your hands down …’ what’s wrong with you’ he might have argued. Then you told him your stop was two houses away everyone started to laugh even your crush. Everyone might have thought that you forgot your stop. Until you own up your fears. You have a stutter.

Photo by Karolina Grabowska on Pexels.com

    Some will continue to laugh some will not cause they are mature enough to know that the fault is not yours. They would have known that you did not stand up in the line and ask God for a cup of stutter imagine that. They would have known that you were born with this and there is nothing you can do to control it except speech therapy. They would have known it sucks.

       They don’t know the pain of wanting to say something but your words got blurred… scrambled eggs.

I know because I have battled with this condition from the day I knew myself. 

Not being able to chat and laugh with your friends like the other girl hence poor communication skills. Not being able to stand up in public places and share your thoughts because you don’t want to be an unpracticed comedian.

A little advice when it gets too hard, ask yourself what is stuttering and know that it is nothing compared to your dreams. I know some of you have big visions, some of you want to be an actor/actress but they say you might spoil the show, it doesn’t matter more fun. Some of you want to be a journalist, but they say that isn’t for you. Have you ever met a stuttered host amazing, aren’t they? Let me tell you something never let another human belittle you, you are amazing, there is a reason God made you the way you are. He saw something in you that is why he chose you. You are going to be great.

 During high school a teacher asked us to share our dreams with the class I stood up and said “sir I want to become an actress” and you knew what the class did? They laughed because they thought that this little stuttered girl could never be an actress. But the dean looked at me and said you are destined to be something great in life you know why. I guess that was rhetorical because he answered afterward. After all, there is something wrong with you. “What’s wrong with you”

I said ‘sir I hh-have a stutter’. He said yes and remember I told you so. So from then I often stood in the mirror (no matter how embarrassing my day was) and ask what is stuttering IT.IS.NOTHING.COMPARED.TO.MY.DREAMS.

Photo by Veerendra on Pexels.com

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started